amigurumi · Crochet · Cross Stitch

A few quick makes

I seem to have a terrible habit of flying through projects without properly photographing my progress as I’m going along.  I’d like to say it’s because I do a lot of crocheting in the evening and the lighting in my flat is awful, but the truth is I forget, which means I have a tough time doing blog posts about one single project.  Hence this one which includes some of my recent finishes and general ramblings.

So, it would seem I had made one or two things for various family members and friends, but nothing for my lovely mum.  My mum is a massive fan of the ‘Gorjuss’ collection and I’ve cross stitched her a few Gorjuss designs in the past:

Gorjuss

I wondered if there was a crochet pattern for her, and after a quick search on Ravelry,  I found  this one by artedetei.  It was standard amigurumi, increasing and decreasing rounds to give her shapely hips and a bosom and a separate dress worked in rows.

I followed the pattern for the dress but it looked terrible.  It was far too big, so I made one up as I went along.   I think it looks much better because it doesn’t have a seam at the back.  Once the body was done it was time to do her hair.  Wow.  It took me an entire afternoon and evening to do it all!  It’s an easy process, but it’s just so boooooooring! Each strand had to be added individually:

Calliope's Hair

The laborious nature of the hair was totally worth it for the end result though.  She doesn’t look like the photo in the original pattern, but my mum was absolutely over the moon with her and named her ‘Calliope’ after her favourite character in Grey’s anatomy!

Calliope

I brought her to work to show off, and everyone said she was terrifying because she has no mouth! I love her and my mum loves her too, so that’s all that counts!

Last Saturday I was at a bit of a loss of what to do.  I fancied doing something quick and easy and in the back of my mind I’d kept a memory  of a Mickey Mouse granny square that I’d seen somewhere, so I googled it and found this great YouTube instructional video.  They were so easy to make and I really enjoyed doing them.

Mickey

I have two friends I met on a Disney Cruise a few years ago and I knew they would be the perfect recipients, so I posted them a few days ago and they were very warmly received!  It makes it so worthwhile when something you make is so wonderfully appreciated!  Makes my heart do a little dance!

As the Mickey squares didn’t take too long, I decided to have a go at making some mandalas that were featured in the most recent copy of Knitting and Crochet magazine.  The magazine always comes with 6 balls of yarn and plenty of inspiration for which to use it.  I really liked the prettiness of the mandalas and I’d never done anything like it before, so I thought it would be a challenge.  I started with the smallest and worked my way up to the largest.  I made a lot of mistakes, down to me not counting properly and following the picture in the magazine, which turned out to be wrong! I got there in the end and am really pleased with the results.  I think I will get some embroidery hoops and display them that way.

Mandala Mania

That’s all for now!  I have a couple of things on the go, including my C2C blanket, which I’ll update you with soon!

 

2 thoughts on “A few quick makes

Leave a Reply

