amigurumi · Crochet

A rather ambitious project

After I finished Marilyn, I was browsing around Ravelry for inspiration and found an amazing dragon!  (Pattern here).  I knew I wanted to do it immediately and decided to use the lovely green Women’s Institute yarn I bought with my Christmas Hobbycraft Voucher.

About to Start!

I started by making two really tiny rounds and attaching them together to make a big round.  This made his snout, which I thought was really cool. It was really fiddly crocheting in such tiny rounds, and because the backs of the safety eyes were quite bulky, positioning the eyes became a bit of a chore.  I think they look okay though:

Close-Up Face

Making the body was pretty straightforward, but again really tricky because the rounds were so small.  Stitch markers were a blessing as well as a burden.  They got in my way all the time, but saved me from losing count as I was going along.  I decided to use the purple Women’s Institute yarn I bought on my Christmas Haul (No one can say I wasted that voucher!).  I thought it would contrast really well against the green and I think it does.

There is supposed to be a mix of ‘large and ‘small’ spikes but I can’t really tell the difference between which are large and which are small, but I don’t think it matters.

Dragon Body

Once the body was done, I moved onto the arms and legs.  Again, they were fiddly because the rounds were so small, but the increasing/decreasing of stitches in certain places, made them look so cute and squidgy!  It was a nice change from the normal ‘straight’ kind of leg.  I forgot to take a photo of the arms/legs.  Whoops.

Next I moved on to what was undoubtedly the most difficult thing I have ever attempted.  *deep, scary voice* THOSE WINGS.  I really didn’t think they would be as difficult as they were.  I don’t know where I was going wrong, but boy did I mess them up twice before I made anything that looked remotely passable:

Wing Attempt 1

Bad.  So, so bad.  I thought of using a bigger hook, hoping that bigger stitches would be easier to tackle.  It did not help:

Wing Attempt 2

It’s certainly better, but by no means good.  Two attempts were made in one evening and I ended up throwing them on the floor in despair.  I went to bed, woke up nice and early, took all my supplies to my local Costa coffee shop, settled in and decided to work slowly and methodically, photographing each row as I went along.

To get the ridge effect, you have to stitch around the post of the stitch below, which I’ve never actually done before.  It was so tricky and I just couldn’t wait to get them done. Before I started, I searched YouTube for some tips on stitching around the post and miraculously found a video of someone making this very dragon!  The video is in 4 parts and the wing section can be found here.   It helped a little, but the lady making it was so fast it was difficult to understand.  Watching her made me realise how far I am yet to go to make fast and neat creations!   So here are the step by step wings

Wings Rows 1-4

Wings Rows 5-7

Wings Rows 8-9

Wings Rows 10-11

I’d like to say that each row became easier because I knew what I was doing, but that was not the case!  Truth be told I couldn’t wait to finish and the thought of doing another one was so misery-inducing, I was considering making him a one-winged beast.  Thankfully the second one was a bit quicker to make as I had a better idea of what I was doing.  I also tried to be a little looser with my tension as I think that was part of the problem.  I pull so tightly that it was difficult to get the hook in sometimes. Here are the finished pair:

Finished Wings

Certainly not the best, but passable!

After the wings were done, I made and attached his tiny little ears and used the leftover yarn to make little eye ridges:

Close-Up eye ridges

Once the facial features were done it was simply a case of sewing everything together.  Urgh.  Once he was all done I thought it would be cool if he had smoke coming out of his nose like a real dragon, so I stuck my smallest crochet hook into his nostril and pulled out some of the stuffing to look like smoke.   So, I would very much like to introduce my new friend, Dave:

FInished!

What do you think?

4 thoughts on “A rather ambitious project

Leave a Reply

